Public Lawyer of the Year Award

The Executive Committee of the Public Law Section of the State Bar of California is pleased to announce that it is soliciting nominations for the 2017 Ronald M. George Public Lawyer of the Year Award. Every year, the Public Law Section presents this award to recognize a public law practitioner who has provided outstanding service to the public and possesses an exemplary reputation in the legal community and the highest of ethical standards. In 2008, the Public Law Section named the award in honor of now-retired Chief Justice Ronald M. George in recognition of his distinguished career dedicated to serving the public and longtime support of the Section. The Executive Committee is honored to invite members of the Public Law Section, the State Bar and the public at large to submit nominations for the Ronald M. George Public Lawyer of the Year Award for 2017.

The Executive Committee supports the goal of diversity in the membership and leadership of the State Bar. As such, promoting and achieving diversity is considered carefully in selecting an outstanding member of the State Bar who practices public law as the Ronald M. George Public Lawyer of the Year. Nominations are due by May 1, 2017.

For more information, see the Nomination Form.

Past Honorees

Each year the Public Law Section honors a public lawyer selected by the Public Law Section Executive Committee from nominations sent in by members of the Section, the State Bar, and the public at large.

The following individuals exemplify the outstanding work that public lawyers perform every day.

2016: Sylvia Torres-Guillén

2015: Barbara J. Parker

2014: Wendy Patrick

2013: Burk E. Delventhal

2012: Phyllis Cheng

2011: Richard Winnie

2010: Michael G. Colantuono

2009: Patricia Sturdevant

2008: Jeff Thom

2007: Ann Miller Ravel

2006: Clara Slifkin

2005: Manuela Albuquerque

2004: Roderick Watson

2003: Ariel Pierre Calonne

2002: Herschel Elkins

2001: Jayne W. Williams

2000: Prudence Kay Poppink

1999: JoAnne Speers

1998: Peter Belton

1995: Anthony Alperin

1994: N. Eugene Hill

1993: Elizabeth Strauss

1991: Ted Prim